Why Use Dedicated Stop-Motion Software?

More
2 years 9 months ago #839 by mad_hatter
mad_hatter created the topic: Why Use Dedicated Stop-Motion Software?
What are the biggest benefits of using dedicated stop-motion capture software (such as DragonFrame)? I assume most people use this kind of software, but, so far in my short time as a clay animator, I have not.

I shoot on my Canon 60D, on which I have installed Magic Lantern. This allows me to see a ghost image of the previous frame. Of course, I am framing within the tiny, 3-inch monitor of the camera itself, but, so far, this has been adequate. This also means I don’t have a large computer monitor spilling tons of light on to my set. I then upload these into my NLE (Sony Vegas) and work with them there.

Am I correct in thinking that Dragon Frame (and other capture software) only capture in HD; so roughly 2MP? Even if they can capture a higher resolution, wouldn’t the cameras output limit be the highest resolution it could capture (so in the case of the 60D, 1920x1080)? By taking photos in camera, my frames are being recorded at 18MP, so I have the ability, should I ever have the desire to, to edit and export at much higher resolutions. Film is now 4K (approx. 8MP), I expect TV will soon catch up. You can now upload to YouTube in 4K! Is there any 4K capture software out there? Does your camera need to output 4K for this to even work?

Am I missing something? Why do people use image capturing software? Is it simply for ease-of-use? Is my method more common than I give it credit for?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
2 years 9 months ago #843 by animateclay
animateclay replied the topic: Why Use Dedicated Stop-Motion Software?