Puppet armature making issue(s)

More
1 year 6 months ago #1176 by Chronowaste
Chronowaste created the topic: Puppet armature making issue(s)
Hello,

First I think it's appropriate to say that I'm only a rookie in the stop motion art.

I'm actually trying, for my first ambitious project of a stop motion short movie, to make a fuctionnal puppet. The design is very simple, because I want it to be "unfinished, for the sake of my story. So it is basically going to be only a wire armature with a few elements here and here (head, foots...).

But I'm having more trouble that I initially tought I would face. I don't want to use any clay or any other similar material to cover my puppet, or to fix the parts together, only wire, eventually wood or plastic. So I can't really get the legs to hold to torso, and the torso to hold the arms properly.

It fall every time. I tried glue, tape, smaller wire but nothing do the job.

So here's my question : how can I make a proper minimalist wire body without using modeling clay ? I know how to make the different body parts with wire, but I fail to put them together.

Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 year 6 months ago #1178 by Mr_Force
Mr_Force replied the topic: Puppet armature making issue(s)
If you are going for minimal construction, Don't try to make them separately instead run the wires from bottom of the foot to the hand on one side, the same for the other side and 2 wires for the back to neck with them all twisted together up the back. Most of the time people use epoxy or wood/plastic to hold separate peaces together some times with wood screws. It would help if you had a pic of your puppet parts/size...

moshi moshi

More
1 year 6 months ago #1179 by Funky1
Funky1 replied the topic: Puppet armature making issue(s)
Check out the Home Depot armature thread a little further down

More
1 year 6 months ago #1181 by Chronowaste
Chronowaste replied the topic: Puppet armature making issue(s)