Let's start...

More
1 year 4 months ago #1212 by Klayma_N
Klayma_N created the topic: Let's start...
Hello everyone!

I wrote a very long introduction post about a week ago, but sadly my browser crashed, and it dissapeared :( I will keep it shorter this time.

In 2012 I did my fine art bachelor, and since than i fell in love with stop motion animation, despite i had never done any. I decided that i will do a computer game, which will be a side scroller. I wanted to learn all about the process of making stop animation - through making the puppets and sets, animating them, learning what i need from photography and so on. My main material is metal - this involves cutting, welding and sculpting it with a hammer, but i also include other things that I find visually attractive.

It took me a long time to get here, because learning how to animate human body without starting with the basics was very hard...and stupid. I spent days without being able to make my animations correct, but this never stopped me.
On the technology side, I already knew Photoshop, but started reading books about game, level and character design, storytelling, and also getting familiar with Game Maker, and afterwards - Unity, which are engines for making games. I know also a bit of programming, but nothing serious.

Now, a few words about the project. The game is called Mirabilia, and is situated on a distant planet, inhabited with humans, that don't remember their past, or where they come from. The main character called Eon, who in the past was a buddhist monk, wakes up from a cryogenic sleep in a society that lives in a somewhat steampunk setting.
Buut, ofcourse a disaster happens, and you have to save the world :D

This, is a very short version of the story, but its not why i am here, so - let's move on.

Making the puppet of the main character was a lot of fun for me, as it was my first time. Here are some pictures: